More Options

CCSD and CCEM Announce Green School, Video Contest Winners 04/29/2014

CCSD and CCEM Announce Green School Awards, Recycling Awareness Student Video Contest Winners

Ashley Harris receiving awardThe Green Liaison of the Year is Ashley Harris from Ashley River Creative Arts. Ashley is a fourth grade teacher who leads the school green team and gardening club. Ashley has served as the green liaison for ARCA for three years and has been a valuable asset to the Sustainable Schools Initiative and Greening Schools Program since their inception.

Mr. Benintendo receiving award for Haut GapThe Green Team of the Year is from Haut Gap Middle School, where Kit Fox with Communities in Schools and Travis Benintendo, Principal, lead the student green team toward making Haut Gap one of the most sustainable schools in the district.

Mr. Benson receiving awardThe Green Day Porter of the Year is James Benson from West Ashley Middle School. Mr. Benson works for Service Solutions, one of the contracted custodial companies with CCSD. Mr. Benson works closely with the green team students and teacher green liaisons within the school each day. This year, he helped to implement a cafeteria recycling program, including initiating the collection of recycling at breakfast in the cafeteria to decrease waste, among other green initiatives.

Recycling Awareness Student Video Contest Winners

Student with awardElementary School Division

First Place: Mount Pleasant Academy's "Save Our Planet" by Wils Browning and Ryan McInerney

Second Place: Jane Edwards' "Recycling Super Heros" by German Ventura, Victor Laureano-Ventura, Davont'a Cook, Alycia Wright, and Maicol Bueno

Third Place: Drayton Hall's "Drayton Hall Recyclers" by Cooper Carroll, Brooklyn Daniel, Alayiah Holmes, Jordan Hoppes, Grace Horton, Logan King, Katie McCaughtry, Leslie McCrudden, Monica Najera, Jayden Spivey, and Dylan Williams

Students with awardsMiddle School Division

First Place: Charleston Charter for Math and Science's "Recycling, It's Just That Easy" by Nicole Brogan, Maggie Fosberry, and Hana Dorman

Second Place: Cario's "The Butterfly Effect" by Ryan Harding

Third Place: Cario's "Recycle Rap" by Logan Frailey, JT Hendrix, Harrison Paul, Andrew Lemon, David Kenis, and Jacob Little

High School Division

Award close upFirst Place: James Island Charter's "Recycling Can Change the World" by Abigail Elsey

Second Place: Wando's "Save Paper, Save Trees, Save the Earth" by Leandra Smith, Rylee Fetterhoff, Greg Winglosky, and Mark Maddaloni

Third Place: James Island Charter's "The Recycling Effect" by Caitlyn Black


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.