More Options

Nine CCSD Students Qualify for Presidential Scholars Award

Nine CCSD Students Qualify for Presidential Scholars Award
Posted on 12/01/2016

December 1, 2016 -- Nine CCSD Students Qualify for Presidential Scholars Award

For Immediate Release

December 1, 2016


Erica Taylor 843-937-6303

Media Release

Nine CCSD Students Qualify for Presidential Scholars Award


Charleston, SC — Charleston County School District (CCSD) is proud to announce that nine students in the District met the rigorous criteria to be considered a Presidential Scholar. Three students at Academic Magnet and three students at Wando qualified under the General Component. Another two students at Wando and one at James Island Charter High qualified under the Career and Technology Education (CTE) component.

In order to qualify under the General Component, students must have an ACT composite score of 35 or 36, an ACT National Career Readiness Certificate (NCRC) of Gold or Platinum, and an 85 scale score on the Locating Information core area of the ACT WorkKeys exam. To qualify under the CTE Component, students must be a CTE Concentrator (a student who has earned at least three units in a state-recognized CTE program), score Gold or Platinum on WorkKeys, have a minimum 4.50 GPA in their 2015-16 school year CTE courses, and completed an internship or apprenticeship work-based learning experience.

Congratulations to the following students for their outstanding achievements in qualifying for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Award:

General Component category

Benjamin Holmes, Academic Magnet High School

William Tonks, Academic Magnet High School

Anna Tavormina, Academic Magnet High School*

Gabrielle Blackburn, Wando High School

Justice Davis, Wando High School

Lia Hsu-Rodriguez, Wando High School*

CTE category

Karly Fitch, Wando High School

Isabel Watchorn, Wando High School*

Hudson Kline, James Island Charter High School*

While a total of nine students were eligible, each school could nominate only one student in each category for which they had qualifying students. Congratulations to Anna Tavormina, Lia Hsu-Rodriguez, Isabel Watchorn, and Hudson Kline on their nominations.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was expanded to include students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields (CTE). Up to 161 students are selected annually as U.S. Presidential Scholars, based on academic achievement and exceptional performance on the SAT or ACT.

For more information about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, visit


About the Charleston County School District

Charleston County School District (CCSD) is the second largest school system in South Carolina representing a unique blend of urban, suburban, and rural schools that span 1,000 square miles along the coast. CCSD serves more than 50,000 students in 86 schools and several specialized programs. With approximately 6,100 employees district-wide, CCSD is the fourth largest employer in the region.

CCSD offers a diverse, expanding portfolio of options and specialized programs, delivered through neighborhood, charter, magnet, IB (international baccalaureate), and Montessori schools, and is divided into three Learning Communities led by associate superintendents. Options include specialized programs in science, engineering and mathematics; liberal arts; music and other creative and performing arts; career and technical preparation programs; and military and other public service enterprises.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.